Welcome to Gloucestershire County Council’s Fire and Rescue Community Risk Management Plan (CRMP) covering the 2022 - 25 period.

Gloucestershire is a diverse county covering 1,024 square miles and hosting a population of approximately 640,000. The county is divided into six districts, City of Gloucester, Cheltenham, Forest of Dean, Tewkesbury, Cotswold and Stroud.

Over half of Gloucestershire’ County has been designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), including parts of the Cotswold’s, the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean. The main urban centres are Gloucester and Cheltenham where approximately half of the county’s population live.

GFRS has 32 fire engines with a further 15 specialist vehicles that ensure we provide a high standard emergency response to all incidents in all areas. These vehicles are crewed by on-call and whole-time firefighters and both are supported by a core of flexible duty Officers and non operational staff at its Quedgeley Headquarters or, due to the pandemic, from other premises and home addresses.

As a service, we border six other Fire and Rescue Services (South Wales, Herefordshire and Worcestershire, Warwickshire, Oxford shire, Dorset & Wiltshire and Avon), providing mutual cross-border support to one another if and when required.

Page updated: 23/09/2021 Page updated by: Gloucestershire County Council

Help us improve Gloucestershire County Council

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.