Emotional Literacy Support Assistant (ELSA) Programme in Gloucestershire

Schools with accredited ELSAs

The ELSA title can only be used by people who meet three criteria:

  1. Have attended a full ELSA training course - in Gloucestershire our training course is 7 days
  2. Regularly attend supervision in small groups - a minimum of four supervision sessions a year
  3. Currently delivering bespoke support to individual and small groups

Find out more about ELSA training.


Supervision of ELSAs

As ELSAs work with some of the most vulnerable children and young people in schools, it is essential for their professional practice and safety that they continue to receive professional supervision from an educational psychologist.

We keep a record of attendance for supervision sessions and the schools listed below currently employ ELSAs that meet the above requirements, including attending a minimum of four supervision sessions across an academic year.

ELSAs and their schools will need to ensure that they subscribe to the ELSA Supervision package with the Educational Psychology Service. This is currently £200 for 6x2 hour supervision sessions across the academic year.

Updated in August 2021

Next update in August 2022


Schools in the 2021-22 Academic year with ELSAs

These lists reflect the EP service supervision groups. If you believe there is a mistake or your school is missing from this list, please contact us

Cheltenham schools

  • Alderman Knight
  • Ashchurch
  • Queen Margaret
  • Charlton Kings Infants
  • Pitville
  • Prestbury St. Mary's
  • Shurdington
  • The John Moore


Cirencester schools

  • Chesterton
  • The Castle School (South Gloucestershire)
  • Hatherop Castle
  • Kemble
  • Kempsford
  • Paternoster
  • Powells
  • Southrop


Gloucester schools

  • Ashleworth
  • Calton
  • Churcham
  • Gloucester and Forest Alternative Provision School
  • Hartpury
  • Highnam Academy
  • Norton
  • The Milestone
  • Tuffley


Forest of Dean schools (based on supervision groups)

North East South West
  • Walmore Hill
  • Westbury-on-Severn
  • Newnham
  • Soudley
  • Littledean
  • St Whites
  • Hope Brook
  • Mitcheldean
  • Drybrook
  • Blakeney
  • Bream
  • Yorkley
  • Pillowell Community
  • Parkend
  • Ellwood
  • Clearwell
  • Redbrook
  • St Johns
  • Offas Mead
  • Tutshill
  • Woolaston
  • Aylburton
  • Lydney
  • The Dean Academy
  • St Peter's Newnham
  • Primrose Hill
  • Severn Banks
  • St Briavels Parochial
  • Ruardean
  • Berry Hill
  • English Bicknor
  • Lydbrook
  • Heart of the Forest
  • Woodside
  • Steam Mills
  • Glebe & Picklenash Jr
  • Coalway Infants
  • Coalway Junior

Help us improve Gloucestershire County Council

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.