Assessment and Eligibility policy

National eligibility criteria for adult social care were introduced on 1 April 2015 when the Care Act 2014 came into force.

All local authorities in England are required to use the national eligibility criteria to decide whether or not adults are entitled to receive help with the care and support that they need. This means that the same eligibility rules apply in all counties within England.

The County Council's Assessment and Eligibility policy reflects the requirements of:

  • The Care Act 2014
  • The Care and Support (Assessment) Regulations 2014
  • The Care and Support (Eligibility Criteria) Regulations 2014 and
  • The Care and Support Statutory Guidance issued under the Care Act by the Department of Health in October 2014.

Download the policy



Help us improve Gloucestershire County Council

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.