We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue we'll assume that you are happy to accept cookies.

Skip to main content
County council 2019/20 budget consultation is now live
Have your say here

Mental Capacity Act 2005 & Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards Training

A multi agency training strategy was agreed in Gloucestershire to develop and implement Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) & Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) training for all staff in Social Care, Health and Independent and Voluntary sectors. 

Mental Capacity Act 2005 & Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards training: Important information

The Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 provides a statutory and quality framework to empower and protect some of the most vulnerable people in society. It makes it clear who can take decisions, in which situations and how they should go about this in respect of people who lack capacity to make particular decisions for themselves. Part of the role of Gloucestershire Safeguarding Adults Board (GSAB) is to ensure people can access the training needed to do this effectively and with confidence.

The GSAB has a recommended Multi-Agency Training Pathway for all organisations and partners; most organisations will be accessing Levels 1 to 3. 

Basic Awareness Induction (Level 1) 

E-Learning packages: Deprivation of Liberty; Safeguarding Adults; Mental Capacity Act

These  online learning modules are available free of charge for anyone who lives or works in Gloucestershire. For log in details please contact trainingenquiries@gloucestershire.gov.uk for user name and password. 

These training packages are also available for refresher training and have been updated to ensure they are  Care Act Compliant.

Mental Capacity Act and DoLS Foundation (Level 2) 

A half-day face-to-face session delivered by a GSAB approved trainer. The e-learning programmes should be completed prior to attendance. 

The Level 2 course provides training for all staff in health, social care and all other settings with direct contact with adults with care and support needs. Mental Capacity Act and DoLS Level 2 needs to be formally updated every three years, with employers assessing individual knowledge and competence regularly and refreshing as appropriate.

GCC staff: book through SAP.

Non GCC staff: Attend training delivered by your organisation’s GSAB approved MCA trainer.

Otherwise, there are independent trainers who can deliver this training – contact trainingenquiries@gloucestershire.gov.uk for details.

Multi-agency MCA and DoLS Training (Level 3)

A multi-agency one day programme for MCA Professional Leads from any of the organisations signed up to the multi-agency policy. Additionally, multi-agency practitioners whose role necessitates this level of training e.g..'- Social Workers, Locality Managers, Community Managers, Team Managers, Medical staff who will be undertaking MCA 2 or equivalent, Reablement Co-ordinators, Assessment Team, Support Planning Team, Enablement. This training day will enable them to follow local and national policies, legislation and procedures.

The e-learning programmes and MCA and DoLS Level 2 training should normally be completed prior to attendance.

Available for staff in Care Homes and Hospitals. The aim of the half-day sessions is to provide understanding of roles and responsibilities under DoLS with particular emphasis on the practical aspects of the process. Please telephone 01452 426005 for more information.

Training Dates 2018

Level 3 Safeguarding Adults:

30th January

20th February

20th March

All to be held at Brockworth Community Centre and to run from 09:30-16:30

Level 3 Mental Capacity Act for Multi-Agency Managers:

15th January – Gloucester Farmers Club

 6th February – Gloucester Guildhall

7th March – Gloucester Folk Museum

All courses to run from 09:30-16:30

Help us improve Gloucestershire County Council

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.